2021-2022 School of Social Work Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations to Regina Newman, Kayla Alford, Kerron Elder, Jr, and Eryn Haynes on being selected as scholarship recipients by the School of Social Work! 

Regina Newman, received The Nancy and Leland E. Garrett Scholarship. This scholarship is used to support students in the MSW program working in a clinical setting or who show interest in medical work with patients experiencing renal failure and/or kidney disease. Currently, Regina works as an intern at the Duke Sickle Cell Clinic where many of her patients have comorbidities like renal failure and have scheduled dialysis.

Kayla Alford was awarded The Myatt-Peebles Scholarship. This scholarship was established by Dr. Wilma C. Peebles-Wilkins, an NC State alumna from the class of 1967. This award honors the memory of her parents and their descendants. Kayla, a graduating BSW student, is completing her internship at Haven House in the Youth Career Options program.

Two students, Kerron Elder, Jr, and Eryn Haynes, received scholarships from the North Carolina Governor’s Institute on Substance Use Disorders. This award supports scholarships for Master of Social Work students completing the North Carolina Addiction Specialist Professional Practice Board’s Criteria C Program. Kerron is a graduating traditional MSW student interning at UNC Wakebrook. Eryn is at the end of her first year in the traditional MSW program and placed at the Student Wellness Center at UNC-Chapel Hill.

To read more about scholarships from the School of Social Work, as well as those across NC State University, visit our Scholarships page!

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.